Monday Morning Mish Mash

10 11 2008

 birthcontrol

1. The TV stations must be desperate for ad dollars now that the election is over. The other morning, during ONE commercial break, I saw two ads for Gutter Guards. The main advertiser one night was a string of homemade ads for a local window company.

2. And, since American has spoken, it’s time to rip up the signs in your yard and remove the bumper stickers. Nothing says “I’m lazy” worse than wearing your pride for a candidate whose fate has already been sealed.

3. So that this morning’s little poster has a point, I offer the following:

Miss Beatrice, the church organist, was in her 80’s and had never been married. She was admired by everyone as a sweet and kind soul. One afternoon, the pastor came calling and she invited him to sit in her parlor as she prepared a pot of tea. As he sat facing her old Hammond organ, the minister noticed a cut glass bowl sitting on the organ. It was filled with water, and floating in it was, of all things, a condom!

When Miss Beatrice returned with tea and scones, they began to chat, and try as he might, the preacher couldn’t stifle his curiosity.

“Miss Beatrice,” he said, “I wonder if you would tell me about this?” He gestured to the bowl.

“Oh yes!” she replied, “Isn’t it wonderful? I was walking through the park a few months ago and found this little package on the ground. The directions said to place it on the organ, keep it wet, and it would prevent disease. Do you know I haven’t had the flu all winter?”

4. It’s Veteran’s Day this week…so if there are any veteran’s out there reading–you have my thanks for all you did, are doing, or will do.

5. I read something startling over the weekend. The company that makes Hot Wheels (Mattel) is worth more than the company that makes full-sized versions of many of the same models–General Motors. There was someone on TV this morning hawking a bailout of GM–saying that “this current economic crisis”  blah blah  blah. GM hasn’t been doing well in years! If the GM rental cars I’ve had are any indication, it’s because their fit, finish, and interior details are on par with Hot Wheels but nowhere near their competition. The exception being many of their SUV and trucks–let that sort of quality into your bargain cars, and you don’t need a bailout. Just my two cents.

Actions

Information

8 responses

10 11 2008
trailerparkbarbie

Those kids live in my neigborhood. They are destructive little turds.

I saw something startling on a news program’s stock report…..World Wide Wrestling stocks cost more than medical stocks. I’m gonna buy me some!

10 11 2008
Monday Wind-Up « Little Miss Sew N Sew

[…] 10, 2008 by Little Miss Since my fellow blogger, the Vinyl Villager, has Monday Morning Mish-Mash (such a great title and idea), I’m going to copy him blatantly but call this post something […]

10 11 2008
Queen of Planet HotFlash

When we first moved to Kentucky we rented a home in a “holler” around a curve on the side of the road sat a house which was nothing more than a shack on cement blocks, anyways a family lived there and they had about 6 kids ages 12 on down and everyone of them kids smoked right on down to the four year old.
As we were coming around the curve with our moving truck one of the younger ones( I said six or so) was standing beside the road in his underwear, smoking a cigarette and flip us the finger..hmmm this maybe a good story for my blog since here is alot more to tell on this family :o)

10 11 2008
The Vinyl Villager

TPB–I thought they looked familiar!

Queen—YES! I need to hear more about a four year old smoker.

10 11 2008
Big Hair Envy

My guess is that it was their mom who snapped the photo. She was so proud. That’s Christmas card material. Can you imagine the accompanying Christmas letter?

10 11 2008
Woody

A woman walks into a drugstore and asks the pharmacist if he sells size extra large condoms. He replies, “Yes we do. Would you like to buy some?”

The woman responds, “No, but do you mind if I wait around here until someone does?”

10 11 2008
cuteasasa

How do you bail out an industry if no one wants buy their product? I own a smaller GM SUV. BIGGEST MISTAKE I’ve ever purchased. At 3 years the warranty was up, the vehicle had less than 25k on it….and it started falling apart. GM makes me a Republican. Let ’em fall apart. I’ll be buying Honda from here on out. Whew. Thanks. I needed that rant.

10 11 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Big Hair–the apple usually doesn’t fall far from the tree. (Which means the one on the rights mom was a gerbil?)

Woody–LMAO! Love it!

Cuteasasa–I love my Hondas! I’ve had four or five of them.

Leave a Reply

