Sharing the Blog Love

6 11 2008

The Incredible Woody (a name that has nothing to do with the male sex organ) tagged me to share some blog love. I’ve actually had a post like this rolling around in my head with the rocks and dirty thoughts for a while, because (as many of you will no doubt agree) the best way to find new and interesting blogs to read is by seeing what your friends find interesting.

The rules of the tag are this:

  1. Only 5 people are allowed.
  2. Four have to be dedicated followers of your blog.
  3. One has to be someone new or recently new to your blog and live in another part of the world.
  4. You must link back to whoever linked to you.

Now, I might have to play fast and loose with these rules. I don’t like the sound of “dedicated followers” but there are several out there who comment often enough that I think they might qualify. And I haven’t added any new blood to my blogroll in some time (though if my victims below turn me on to some new blogs, maybe I will soon!) As always, if I tagged you, take it as an honor–not as a pressure to do anything. So, in no particular order:

1. The Queen of Planet HotFlash is, perhaps, the only person in the blogosphere who can relate to my stories about my mother, since her mother-in-law is cut of the same cloth. Whether she is talking about her family, the news, or things as mundane as a doctor’s visit, the Queen will leave you laughing!

2. Jason over at the Jason Show can make you laugh, cry, and think outside the box all in one post. It might be the only place on the blogosphere where the ex-wife of a gay man regularly guest-blogs. He’s a teacher, a grandfather, dad to the cutest kid, and has a very engaging life story.

3. Want to see a Round World Through Square Glasses? Well you don’t have to wait for Sarah Palin’s memoir because Alan has got it hooked up already. Whether it’s his broad musical tastes, pics of his beautiful family and travels, or just him weighing in on current events, you always leave Alan’s blog feeling like you learned a little something. And, he is one of the few men I’ve run across that has a truly personal blog that isn’t all about a sports team, a hobby, or T and A. (though you’ll find a bit of all that there too)

4. The Girl from the Ghetto has done an excellent job of combining personal stories with pop culture. Reading her blog, you get the feeling that you could meet her on the street tomorrow and feel like you had just run into an old friend. Whether struggling through health issues, coming out as a childhood gangsta, or just dishing on the folks on the boob tube, there is a familiarity and realness to her posts that I find quite refreshing.

5. One of the best community builders I’ve found out there is MJ at Note to Self. She’s great at getting her readers actively involved in her blog–be it through honoring a Post of the Week or just link lovin’. We can all relate to her rants, she provides ways to waste time on the internet, and she uses her blog to make the word a better place. What more can you ask for?

Now, I singled out five, cause that’s what the rules said, but every one of the folks in my blogroll is worth visiting or they wouldn’t be there. They’re from all over, all ages, with all different interests, views, and styles. When you have some time to kill, surf through there–I bet you’ll find something you like.

Actions

Information

10 responses

6 11 2008
theincrediblewoody

I’m off to catch up with these folks….

6 11 2008
Peter Parkour

What a cool little meme. I’m totally diggin’ the idea behind it. Looks like you’ve come up with some nice choices too. Thanks. 😉

6 11 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Woody…have fun!

Peter…yeah I thought so too. Good way to find new bloggers to read.

6 11 2008
alan

That might be the nicest thing anyone has ever written about my site! Thanks man! You made my day! 🙂

6 11 2008
thegirlfromtheghetto

Oooh, great idea for a meme. I’m always looking for new blog friends, and I totally love that you called me a childhood gangsta!!!! Thank you for thinking of me for the meme. I’ll get it done this weekend!

6 11 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Alan–no problem!

Girl–you’re quite welcome! (To be honest, I was afraid if I didn’t name you, you’d come after me with that BB gun! LOL!)

6 11 2008
thegirlfromtheghetto

Ha ha ha, I just might have!

7 11 2008
Queen of Planet HotFlash

AAWWWW thanks!!! made me all soft & mellow inside, I’ll do mine soon..

30 11 2008
Jason

Somehow I missed this post when it came out. Thank you for this, you are very kind!

1 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Jason–you are certainly welcome!

Leave a Reply

