The Blogosphere Home Tour

28 10 2008

Am I alone in liking to take a peek at other people’s homes? Maybe it’s an occupational hazard, but I love home tours, open houses, magazine spreads, and anything else that lets me see how other people live. And the blogosphere has been quite helpful in getting me my daily dose of other people’s abodes. When I want to see incredible houses that I could never afford (or, in some cases, wouldn’t take if you paid me), I hop over to the RealEstalker, who gets all the dish on high priced celebrity properties, sometimes including floorplans for me to drool over. Alan thought I was a bit strange for looking forward to seeing his bathroom renovation unfold. But Red really inspired this post with a cool meme she posted. I’m not brave enough to post photos of my own house per the rules of her meme, because you aren’t allowed to clean first.

So, begging her forgiveness, I’m starting my own–the Blogosphere Home Tour. I won’t tag anyone to do it, but I hope several of you will. No real rules–just post up pics of your place and tell us why it feels like home to you. Link back to me so I know to come check you out! And, good sport that I am, I’ll go first.

First up, my master bath. The subject of a light remodel earlier this year. The builder-original vinyl floor and white walls were replaced with travertine, nicer trimwork, and new paint:

Next up, the dining room. Like most dining rooms, it gets used once a month…but my $50 chairs, moving- sale table, and bargain artwork make it a nice little spot to eat a TV dinner:

Around the corner, the living room. Home of the freeby sofa, the finish-it-yourself tables, and the armoire I got in trade for doing a small job:

And we’ll end our tour where I end my days, the master bedroom, which doesn’t quite look like this anymore because I have since gotten different bedding. (Though looking at this picture, maybe I like it better before…hmmm…some redecorating might be in order):

Now, bear in mind these are the good rooms that are photographed “just so”. What I won’t show you is the rooms that are still builder white with three dollar light fixtures in ’em, or the baskets of laundry, stacks of papers, and piles of shoes that you would see were you to stop by.

So, let the Blogosphere Home Tour continue–who’s next?

Actions

Information

25 responses

28 10 2008
sista #2

When can I move in?

Where did you get your curtains, draperies, hanging cloth? I am loving them.

peace
#2

28 10 2008
The Vinyl Villager

LOL! if you cook and clean, NOW. I had those made actually cause it was hard for me to find something that would match all of my other hodge podge of stuff.

28 10 2008
Red

as i said in the comment at my joint, your digs are awesome !
love love love that bathroom !!
next time i’m in SC, i want a tour!

29 10 2008
The Vinyl Villager

why thank ya Red. I like the bathroom too…its amazing what a difference just painting it did…I was a little “iffy” on such a dark color, but it turned out ok.

29 10 2008
The Incredible Woody

Your home is beautiful. I’ll be moving in next week. OK?

29 10 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Woody…that would be fine, but just so you know, the guest room is one of the builder white with three dollar light fixture rooms.

29 10 2008
Little Miss

What color did you use for your bathroom? I love it. In a large bathroom like that it works just great. I still have builder white and cheap fixtures in my bathrooms and upstairs hallway, but the rest of my home has been painted. I love your dining room too. When I can, I’ll post pics of my place too and let you know. Have you seen The Inspired Room yet? (http://theinspiredroom.net/) She does a lot of home drive-bys and inside home pics. She also has some of her home in Oregon by the coast that she’s remodeled.

29 10 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Little Miss…
its a color from Sherwin Williams called “Hopsack” I think. No, I havent visited that site, but I will go check it out now too.

I remember seeing some pics of your place as you were working on it…if I recall correctly, you have a blue Id like to put in my master bedroom.

29 10 2008
Big Hair Envy

I’m impressed that you have enough room to HIDE the laundry, mail AND shoes! Toss all of those things in the middle of the room, throw in some grass clippings and dog hair with a side of cat hair, and you will get an accurate visual of Casa de Envy:) Why do you think we spend so much time OUTSIDE???

Do you STILL want to see the photographic evidence??? Bwahahaha!

29 10 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Big Hair—YES!

29 10 2008
cuteasasa

yowsa. What a beautiful home. Mine is very similar. I also have a roof and indoor plumbing. : )

29 10 2008
Peter Parkour

Nice digs V.V. 😉 I too like to look, but I refuse to play. I a big wussy like that. 😕

29 10 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Alright you guys, only Lil Miss has shown any inclination of ponying up to the challenge. Dont make me start taggin’

30 10 2008
GYL

ok, I have to confess. when i happened along this blog this was the first post I saw. When I nosed around to the ‘all about’ I nearly fell off my chair when I saw ur a BOY! not that boys can’t be neat, and have good taste…..;) It is just funny how you immediately start making assumptions!

30 10 2008
The Vinyl Villager

GYL…Don’t let me fool ya…it’s not always that neat! Glad you stopped by.

30 10 2008
The Vinyl Villager

GYL…Don’t let me fool ya…it’s not always that neat! Glad you stopped by.

30 10 2008
Alan

HOLY CRAP! Your place is awesome! I better not let my wife see this…she might want our house to look just like yours! Funny story…got home yesterday from London. This morning there was a torrential downpour in my new bathroom which I just saw for the first time completed yesterday. My upstairs bathroom sink had sprung a leak and was leaking down into our new bath and even farther down into the basement. Good times…and I WILL be posting a picture of the completed bathroom soon! Maybe after we mop everything up… 🙂

30 10 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Alan…oh man that is awful! Did it do any damage to the new stuff? Id be afraid of mold…

30 10 2008
Alan

Well…we had some guys come over with giant blowers to dry everything out. Guess we’ll see! They seemed to think that having the fan in the ceiling was a good thing because all the water came through there. So…lucky us! 🙂

31 10 2008
Queen of Planet HotFlash

I confess I love HGTV, I love looking at other peoples homes too. My hole is an apartment in which is ecclectic and looks as if I have no design sense at all ( which I don’t) I wanted to redo my bedroom but yeah that idea passed fast.
Your home is gorgeous WHEN is the Party???
GYL he’s not a boy, He is a man with great taste :o)

1 11 2008
GYL

LOL, sorry: “I nearly fell off my chair when I saw ur a MAN! not that men can’t be neat, and have good taste”

That better? 😉

As a side note, even though I am 30, if anyone calls me a ‘lady’ or ‘woman’ I am all ‘huh? who?’ cause I certainly ain’t no lady and I am not ‘old’ enough to be a woman! 🙂

2 11 2008
Jason

NICE! If I were the only one making decorating decisions in this house of mine, my house would look EXACTLY like yours! I love it all.

3 11 2008
theincrediblewoody

My home tour is scheduled to post on Wednesday!!

6 11 2008
thegirlfromtheghetto

WTF? What a fantastically decorated house. I was going to do this meme too, and my house now looks like crap after I’ve seen yours!

12 11 2010
Round Mirror ·

well, our bathroom sink is always made from stainless steel because they are long lasting “””

Leave a Reply

