This, Too, Shall Pass

15 10 2008

My old friend, the kidney stone, has come back to visit. It’s not the first time, but he always brings with him nauseating, take your breath away pain. Hopefully, it will pass on it’s own. I do not want to go through having one surgically removed again.

Of course, the pain sent me to the doctor, and as I’ve had a half dozen of the damned things, I know when I get one. That didn’t stop him from doing a urinalysis, xrays, and going through the usual routine of what I should and shouldn’t drink, what I should do, what I should look out for. I sat there thinking, “Doc…you’ve got my medical records there, don’t you see this is old hat for me?” I guess I should just be thankful I have a doctor who is thorough.

So, until this unwelcome guest leaves I’m on a diet of water and pain killers. At least I don’ t have to pee through a strainer this time.

Actions

Information

17 responses

15 10 2008
theincrediblewoody

OMG! I hope it passes soon!! Although I have to say, I am looking forward to some pain killer inspired posts!!!!

15 10 2008
Philly

Imagine that pain 100x worse. It is called giving birth.

#1

15 10 2008
cuteasasa

Yes, it’s good your doctor went through the drill. You’ll find that as you get older you can get sketchy on details and he has no way of knowing when “sketchy” will set in on any individual. I’m going to be nosy and ask…why don’t you have to pee through the strainer this time? Anyhoo, hope it’s over soon. Having to grit your teeth to tinkle just ain’t right.

15 10 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Woody…hopefully Im not on ’em long enough to grand that wish!

Philly…I dont know…Mom has had a few stones in her time, and says they are just as bad. (Of course, you dont get an epidural to pass a stone)

Cuteasasa–Im guessing because they know now what my stones are composed of, so they dont need to capture new ones for analysis?

15 10 2008
Red

yikes!
you poor, poor boy .. i hope you’re well soon !

15 10 2008
Alan

Been there twice. It ain’t fun. Oddly enough, the last time, as I was peeing in the cup at the doctor’s office, the damn thing passed! What are the odds of THAT happening? Enjoy the wter diet! 🙂

15 10 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Red–thanks!

Alan–I think this is number six…one of which was removed WHOLE without an incision…(you can read about that horror in the link in this post).
At the docs office?? I guess that made his diagnosis a no-brainer! LOL. You shoulda bought a lotto ticket that day.

16 10 2008
Big Hair Envy

OUCH, V V! It hurts me to think about that……and I have given birth! Fortunately, I only had to go through that ONCE:)

Hope your recovery is speedy.

16 10 2008
Jason

Ugh. I’ve heard that this is the worst. Good luck!

16 10 2008
Liz

Ugh! I’m so sorry to hear this. My B-I-L has had them numerous times and has been through unmitigated Hell. He told me about some herb he started using and hasn’t had one in 15 years. Let me call & ask him what it was he used, then I’ll get back to you. I don’t know about you, but I’m totally into the the healing power of herbs and firmly believe in most of them.

17 10 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Big Hair…at least when you give birth you get a lil person. I dont think this stone will be around to take care of me when Im old. LOL

Jason…not hurting right now, but it was pretty bad.

Liz…yes, please let me know, that sounds wonderful!

17 10 2008
Big Hair Envy

The only way that stone will provide for you in your golden years is if it comes out shaped like the state of Texas. Then, you could sell it on eBay, and THEN you can tell the government to kiss your butt because you don’t NEED their Social Security! The end.

17 10 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Big Hair…excellent idea. Even better, if it comes out looking like the Virgin Mary or Jesus…watch for me on Oprah!

17 10 2008
Queen of Planet HotFlash

OOOOhhhhhh OOOUuuuccchhhhh your poor weiner
The E bay idea… excellent!!! Lmao

18 10 2008
thegirlfromtheghetto

Ooh, I’ve had a kidney infection, so I can’t imagine how much worse the stones make you feel. Hope you are recovering well and feeling better!!!

18 10 2008
Jodi

Been there, done that. Have you had a lithrotripsy..? Where they use sound waves to break them up..? I’m not entirely convinced that that was the lesser of the two evils…it was done outpatient, and they did put me out, but when I finally came to, it felt like someone had taken a baseball bat to my lower back…and I had a stent for 2 weeks…kinda like a little 6″-8″ wire coming out of my urethra…
Good luck, I’ll seend “kidney stone begone” energy in your direction.
bb
dawtch

19 10 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Queen…LOL! she said weiner. snort!

Girl…I dont know if Ive ever had an infection…but a stone is probably the worst pain Ive ever felt.

Dawtch…YES! I had something like that anyway. Read all about it here: https://thevinylvillage.wordpress.com/2008/03/30/beyond-turn-your-head-and-cough/
It aint pretty! The stent is worse than the stone

Leave a Reply

