Monday Morning Mish Mash

13 10 2008

1. Veep Candidate Sarah Palin tends to name her children unusual things. Let’s see there’s Relay, Roanoke, Geometry, Redwood, and Sunbiscuit. Or something like that. Now, some smart folks have come up with a Palin name generator. I’m Rock Crane Palin, a distant relative of the illustrious Paper Rock Scissors.

2. Might want to check your attitude before going out to eat…a tourist has been beaten to death by a gang of waiters for being “arrogant“.

3. I was out to dinner with a friend who had “Shazam” installed on his iPhone. As we were waiting on our table at P.F. Changs, a song came on and none of us could remember the name of it. He activated Shazam, held the iPhone up to “listen” to the crackly outdoor speaker, and seconds later it gave us the name and title of the song. Amazing stuff. I don’t know if it’s available for anything other than the iPhone, but if you ever get a chance to see it in use–do!

4. This morning’s motivational poster…it has a point, I promise–and it has nothing to do with giving head to fruit or practicing. It’s just that it looks like she is in my kitchen from college! Exact layout, cabinets, and appliances. I wonder if she was my neighbor?

5. I spent a lot of the weekend at my town’s annual fall festival–wherein about 40 local restaurants set up shop on Main street, offering appetizer-sized samples from their menu in exchange for tickets that can be purchased by the sheet for a few bucks. It’s a great way to try restaurants that I’d otherwise not be able to afford, would be too afraid to try, or would otherwise pass by. The best was a wonderful chicken and chorizo paella. Now, I’d never seen, heard of, or tasted paella before, but I will definitely try it anytime I see it on a menu now.

Actions

Information

7 responses

13 10 2008
theincrediblewoody

Fork Decoy Palin

For all those arrogant non-tippers, all I ever did was ‘drop’ a burger on the floor.

I never knew there was such a thing!! Maybe I’m still living in the dark ages.

I had that same apartment when I first got married. Hubs is still disappointed that I didn’t practice more.

I love those “Taste of….” things. What a great weekend!

13 10 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Woody…were you my neighbor too? (btw…your name doesnt link me to your site when you leave a comment anymore??)

13 10 2008
theincrediblewoody

I don’t know what’s wrong with my linking vibe. Seems people have a hard time linking to me on their blogrolls too. I don’t have any idea!!

14 10 2008
Big Hair Envy

Slicer Mission Palin. Evidently, I was bred to be an assassin.

14 10 2008
trailerparkbarbie

That picture is just plain freaky! I wonder if she mastered “whatever”?

15 10 2008
Jodi

C coupla more cool “phone toys”…you can text ANY question to 242242 and gewt the answer back in minutes – and the ones I’ve gotten have always been right – ( my 5 year old is relentless as far as questions go…). You know stuff like “who sang that one song…? The other idwhat I have labled “Free 411” it’s a free information/directory assistance offered by Google, and the # is 1-800-466-4411. They’ll even connect you or text you the number. It’s automated, but what the hell..? it beats .99 per call from a land line and $3 a call on my cell to Sprint…
bb
dawtch

15 10 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Dawtch…I gotta try that text one. Im a big fan of the free 411…youre right, it sure as hell beats paying for the same thing with regular 411.

Leave a Reply

