Are People This Stupid?

22 09 2008

My doorbell just rang, and on the other side was a tow truck and a rather rough looking fellow. In short, here was here to reposess a Mercedes. I told him there was no Mercedes here and  he asked “Well, didya cosign on one?” Ummm…nope. And so off he went on his merry repossessing way. Here’s a tip, kids. If you need a cosigner…and of course there are a hundred reasons why you might…you do NOT need a Mercedes. That’s today’s lesson in personal finance.

Actions

Information

17 responses

22 09 2008
Big Hair Envy

No, really. Where did you hide the Mercedes??? Bahahahahah!

22 09 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Shhhh!!!!

22 09 2008
Big Hair Envy

My dear VV – did you NOT like me before you read my lewd list of colloquialisms??? You know, I just love you for who you are……

22 09 2008
The Vinyl Villager

awwww…you know I did! Im gonna have to think of some more…

of course, if I actually had a Mercedes, back home they would say I was “a little above my raisin'” (which has nothing to do with dried grapes, despite what I thought when I was little.)

22 09 2008
jason

Good point! Although I’m sure there are plenty of young kids out there who think they NEED a Mercedes.

Interesting little story!

23 09 2008
Woody

Are you sure he was looking for a car and not a certain stripper named ‘Mercedes’?!?

23 09 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Jason…I was one of those kids! that was one need that went unfulfilled. I still NEED a Mercedes if anyone would like to get me one…

Woody…you mean I can cosign on a stripper?? I didnt think that was legal…

23 09 2008
.nicotine.queen.

“If you need a cosigner…and of course there are a hundred reasons why you might…you do NOT need a Mercedes”
LOVE IT.

23 09 2008
trailerparkbarbie

AMEN!!!

23 09 2008
thegirlfromtheghetto

I’m hoping you were not the victim of identity theft!!!!

23 09 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Girl: that was my first thought too…it seems like a case of “same name” but I’ll be looking into it more.

23 09 2008
Liz

Yes, I would think that would be a no-brainer, lol. Or even a brand new car for that matter.

23 09 2008
Philly

OH ok, knock on my door and ask me where the car is that you are going to repo.

#1

23 09 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Liz–I think the person who cosigned on an expensive car like that probably is a no brainer himself.

Philly–I thought that too–do people being repoed just hand over the keys?

24 09 2008
Jodi

You know, in the spirit of manly one-upmanship (not that I’m manly – well, not overly manly – well ok, I’m not the most feminine female on the planet…happy..?) I can top the Mercedes repo story. In Sept of 2005 I bought a 2005 Impala. In Dec of 2006, my husband was taking my oldest son, then 20, back to his home 60 miles away, at 11:30 pm, in the rain. The car CAUGHT ON FIRE. That’s right, burned to the ground on the side of the highway at 11:30 at night in the rain – only in my world could such a combination exist…
Anywho, I did have full coverage, as well as GAP coverage. Insurance paid their part before the end of the month. The GAP company paid their part the beginning of Jan. Wells Fargo (the company the loan was through) sent someone to reposses the car in mid-Feb…2 1/2 months after it was destroyed, and they had been paid…go figger.
Welcome to my Hell, erm, world…
bb
dawtch

24 09 2008
The Vinyl Villager

That doesn’t surprise me at all. What caused a car that new to catch on fire??

25 09 2008
Jodi

Never did get a definite answer on that…but, the rear window had been replaced several months earlier, and hunny thinks they may have pinched one of the rear defroster wires and that it eventually shorted out, causing the fire. I know the insurance company contacted GM about possible reimbursement to them, but I never heard anything further on that either…
bb
dawtch

Leave a Reply

