Monday Morning Mish Mash

25 08 2008

1. I spent part of the weekend in Asheville, NC which is apparently the butch lesbian capital of the world. Never have the words “was that a man or a woman?” passed my lips so many times. Androginy aside, it’s a great little town. Pack your flannel and add it to your list of places to go if you haven’t already.

2. I was the weekly winner over at Tom’s Hideaway. For those who don’t know, Tom had a great little trivia challenge–a new set of ten questions every day. If you’re a trivia buff–hop over there and sign up!

3. The Queen may have started the next viral blog meme with her “ask me anything” post last week. I promptly stole it from her, a few folks promptly stole it from me, and I figure by Labor Day it will have crawled over the blogosphere. Great idea, Queen!

4. Going back to trivia…I may have done well at Tom’s last week but I sucked last night as I attempted to play one of those automated bar trivia games. There were two others in the bar playing, and damned if I didn’t lose to both of them. I simply can’t be bothered to recall who the mothers of Greek Gods were. My brain can only hold so much, and that threshold is apparently somewhere beneath recalling the stars of little know movies of the 1940’s.

5. So Barack Obama named his running mate. Is it just me, or have you gotten sick of this election? Elections have become like Christmas–they seem to start earlier every cycle, and by the time the actual event arrives, you’re so damned tired of hearing about it you wanna scream. And this year we have two contenders–one who doesn’t seem to offer anything but “CHANGE” and the other who is so senile he can’t even remember how many houses he has. Can we just check “none of the above??”

6. Sunday was “closet cleaning” day. I guess it had been awhile because there were 50 things to give to charity in addition to probably 20 things that just got tossed. What’s great about cleaning out your closet is that you always find a few things you forgot you had…I’ll spend all week with a “new again” wardrobe.

7. This weeks little motivational poster has a point. What’s with kids feeling they have to flash some hand signal in pictures? They cant just say CHEESE anymore. They have to flash a peace symbol. Or some gangster sign. Do they think it’s cool? Surprise kids! It’s NOT…you look stupid as hell, and the pictures will haunt you later in life.

Actions

Information

18 responses

25 08 2008
MJ

What’s funny about a picture like that is that it’s posted on the internet. Certainly some cop has seen it by now, has recognized the kid, and now they are following him waiting on him to do something stupid.

If you think that’s outlandish, well, that’s exactly what my cop did in training. They watched morons throw gang signs, make drugs, and show off their guns on youtube. Best training EVER.

25 08 2008
Philly

I hate when kids do the hand signals in pictures, or make some kind of pouty face. Pisses me off !!

#1

25 08 2008
Queen of Planet Hotflash

I am sooooooo tired of the election.
And yes those pictures of the signs and those chicks that do the pouty lips thing, yeah they look like morons, but they know everything right!

25 08 2008
The Vinyl Villager

MJ–a cop friend of mine said the same thing–some of their best tips come from the perps themselves via facebook, myspace, etc.

Philly and Queen–these kids can look back with pride one day and tell their own children–“Looky! I was a follower and a poser!”

25 08 2008
Jodi

1. Speaking as a woman who likes women (yeah, THAT way) as well as men, I have never understood the “diesel dyke.” Now granted, I’m not the most feminine female on the planet – not even close – nor are most of my friends (never went in for the whole girlie girl thing – but damned if I don’t have a daughter who did. Still don’t know how that happened…) BUT – when I want a woman, I want a WOMAN. Again, we’re not talking girlie girl, but DAMN if I wanted someone who looked like a man, I have a MAN. I don’t understand why these women think looking like a man is going to attract a woman who likes WOMEN…
2. Yeah, yeah, rub it in some more *grin*
3. I just couldn’t come up with one that hadn’t been asked – guess that stems from being pretty much anti-social, and as an extension not nosy…
4. I always like the “Married With Children” episode where every time Kelly learned something new, she lost something she already had in her head – I feel that way sometimes LOL
5. Yes, I am sick of this election – and every election, for that matter. At least with the Christmas hype it’s leading up to something good – Christmas! (That reminds me, it’s about time to start digging that stuff back out…)
6. I have to clean my closet quite frequently, and like you I love finding stuff I forgot I had – it’s new all over again!
7. Yanno, when we were kids, BEING a kid wasn’t easy, and the “stoopid” ones just didn’t make it (natural selection?) But it seems there’s been some sort of cosmic shift, and now the stoopid ones are thriving – Look at all the morons that have made it to adulthood…
Ok, I’m done for now *grin*
bb
dawtch

25 08 2008
vanticat

I used to live in Asheville (for about eight years) and even some of the straight women you had to look at two or three times to see if they were women. Even then you weren’t always sure. I think they put testosterone in the water…which I didn’t drink enough of apparently because it didn’t significantly “butch” me up.

Also, I belong to a game site (no, nothing like D&D…I’m a dork but still!) and sometimes lesbians will use a male “mini” in their profiles. I think they do it just to confuse this poor lil gay guy.

I, as you, am thoroughly sick of the elections. This year has been especially annoying and looks to be only getting worse with the first convention starting today. It seems the politicians are being even more politician-y this time around…and that’s not a compliment.

Finally, talking about the kid in the picture. Many kids these days seem to have collectively lost their minds (and obviously their parents with them.) Gang signs, droopy pants and more drive me crazy. I know we weren’t always the brightest bulbs when I was growing up…that’s part of growing up. I also know that a lot of things kids do now would have gotten me into a whole bunch of trouble with my Mom.

Oh, and why is everything suddenly “gay”?

25 08 2008
colbymarshall

I could’ve helped you at trivia- despite all the things I do not know, I know a good bit about mythology.

25 08 2008
Big Hair Envy

You schedule a “closet cleaning day”? Does the HOA require that?

25 08 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Jodi…Im shocked to hear you describe yourself as anti-social!

Vanticat–thanks for stopping by! I’ve noticed that too–kids who say “that’s so gay” about EVERYTHING. I have no idea why…and usually it makes no sense in the context they use it.

Colby–wanna go play bar trivia sometime? 🙂

Big Hair–LOL! Silly! I didnt schedule it, it just happened. No requirement from the HOA, but it is forbidden to use your garage for the storage of anything other than cars…

25 08 2008
Big Hair Envy

Oh! Are you actually supposed to put a CAR in your garage? I thought it was just bonus storage space! hahahaha!

“Blogging for Dummies” IS a real book. I ordered mine on-line and had it in two days;) Unfortunately, it doesn’t have THE CODES!

25 08 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Not in my neighborhood its not!

LOL!

is the book worth reading?

25 08 2008
Big Hair Envy

The book is very confusing to me, but I’m learning the lingo! Even if you get one or two helpful hints, it’s worth reading.

25 08 2008
Jodi

CARS go in garages..? Really..? Then where would I put the spare waterbed drawers, the 2 extra fridges, 4 lawn mowers – 1 rider – spare fabric, clothes that don’t fit (the boy) yet, and all the stuff I haven’t unpacked from the move before this one..? My house is only about 2500 sq feet…
bb
dawtch

25 08 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Big Hair–Im gonna look for it!

Jodi–LOL! Im glad IM not the only one who still has unpacked boxes. Ive been in my house 3 years–how bout you?

25 08 2008
Jodi

We moved in May of 2007, then again January 1,2008 – long ugly story, may make the blog one day, when I get writer’s block (like I even keep up with stuff to the point I might run out…ROFLMFAO) But if I’m being totally honest, WHen we moved in May..? We still had stuff in boxes from the last move in December – of 2000.
What..?!?
That’s not that long…milennially speaking…
bb
dawtch

26 08 2008
Peter Parkour

#7 Now that’s gangsta. 😛 Great triple M action V V. 😉

26 08 2008
trailerparkbarbie

Give the gangsta some credit. At least, he’s not showing his ass with pants hanging somewhere around his knees.

28 08 2008
Alan

Dude…I completely agree with #5. I’m over it already. Let’s vote and be done with it!

Leave a Reply

