Being a Kid Again

6 07 2008

I just returned from a long weekend at home. (Home being where my friends and family are–back in WV). it’s always good to be there. I can relax in a way that’s nearly impossible when I am at my house–where work or household chores usually call to me from another room.

At the same time, a visit home brings it’s own stresses. I rarely see everyone I want to, I rarely feel like I’ve spent enough time with the ones I do see. I end up feeling like I’ve bruised someone’s feelings, and/or have to remind myself that just because I’m on vacation doesn’t mean everyone else is in order not to let my own get bruised. Such was the case this weekend. Mom was “sick” and didn’t feel like company. My grandmother was out and about with other visiting relatives, and our paths couldn’t seem to cross. One friend needed to use the weekend to catch up, another needed to pack–and then leave, for vacation.

But I did get to spend some time with two of my best buddies–the 6 and 9 year old sons of two of my closest friends. For some reason, maybe because I tend to let myself be a big kid whenever I can, kids usually love me. These two in particular view me as their personal entertainment. And this weekend, my time with them taught me a few things, namely:

1. It’s good to let yourself be a kid again. I’ve always known this, but it’s good to have a reminder.

2. Grown ups (me specifically)”look dumb” riding a Razor Scooter. At least that’s what the six year old told me when I tried.

3. Getting high on a swing and then jumping out is best left to the kids. I tried it, landed awkwardly, then went into a head first roll across the playground–it must have looked bad, because everyone just gasped until I started laughing at myself–at which point they broke down and doubled over laughing at me.

4. Likewise, rolling down a grassy hill is best left to kids. Adult stomachs are more easily upset by rapid rolling, and adult skin apparently is more easily irritated by grass, bugs, and whatever else lives on a lawn.

5. Kids take everything literally. The six year old was riding in the backseat of my car with a mutual friend of his mother and I. He was trying to blow a bubble with his gum, but instead shot it out of his mouth. “If you get that stuck on his car, Uncle Villager will flip his wig!” the friend chided. The six year old leaned forward, pulled my hair then stated matter-of-factly. “He’s not wearing a wig!”

Actions

Information

15 responses

7 07 2008
Philly

Last time I tried being a kid again at a block party, I did a cart wheel and fractured my ankle

#1

7 07 2008
Queen of Planet Hotflash

I’m over my being a kid phase and have moved on to being the middle-aged lady that does and says what she wants and doesn’t expect anyone to be offended or shocked because well you know shes NUTS 😉

7 07 2008
Red

Aint it fun though to play.
It’s the best.
I love swings!!

7 07 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Philly–sounds like you can relate. I’m sore all over now…

Queen–that sounds almost as much fun as being a kid!

Red–yes! I need to have some kids of my own so I have an excuse to play more often.

7 07 2008
Lori

Ah, playing kid… We were at a water park and I was dared by my 10-year-old niece to try to walk across the floating lily pads. Of course, I tried, fell hard, and got up really fast so no one would think I was hurt. My hip aches when I lay on it to this day – that was 2 years ago!!

7 07 2008
alntv

HAHAHAHAHA! The wig will happen soon enough! I love going home to visit my family and friends. I wish I oculd do it more. And the last time I was there, I tried jumping off the swings. Great minds (or old guys trying to be young again) think alike! LOL

7 07 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Lori: I LOVE a water park! Though I’ve noticed I don’t enjoy the really fast ones anymore. (I must be getting old)

Alntv: did you have the same kind of result I did? My landing somehow managed to give me a sore shoulder, knee, and foot.

7 07 2008
Big Hair Envy

How much Advil have you had to take to recover from your newly discovered childhood??? HeeHee!

I am totally with the Queen of Planet Hotflash 🙂

7 07 2008
MJ

Another thing you should not do now that you are older – Two words: hula hoop.

7 07 2008
trailerparkbarbie

1.I’m too busy pouting at you to comment. You didn’t come and see me. JK

I was on the phone with your mom for over an hour today. I finally had to hang up due to a very tired and sore ear!

2.Glad you ended up having a good weekend.

3. The next time that you write something like “Getting high on a swing “, please clarify. I thought you meant something else and I was really pissed that you didn’t come and see me. JK…not.

7 07 2008
The Vinyl Villager

HA HA HA! You know, I was thinking as I wrote that–one of the things I keep meaning to do is come see trailerparkbarbie. I havent seen your new house since you took the hitch off.

Maybe if I HAD gotten high before getting on that swing, I would have been a little more limber when I crashed to the ground!

7 07 2008
thegirlfromtheghetto

Ok, after reading Trailer Park Barbie’s comment, I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one who thought you were talking about getting “high.” Ha ha ha …

7 07 2008
The Vinyl Villager

LOL! Get yer minds outta the medicine cabinet! (JK…it DOES sound like that doesnt it?)

7 07 2008
trailerparkbarbie

You keep your stash in the medicine cabinet???? Not safe! Your mom will find it (which is an inside joke between VV and TPB!)

(WARNING….totally off subject.)…..Which reminds me….did you know that your great aunt “S” takes 19 prescription pills a day??? Holy friggin’ moley. How does she have any room left in her stomach for food? Those pills would fill me up for several days!

8 07 2008
The Vinyl Villager

NINETEEN??? I cant even name 19 different prescription medicines…
You’re right, she probably takes her pills, eats a pack of Captains Wafers, sits back, and says “Man, Im stuffed”

Leave a Reply

