Iza Skeered a Midgets!

26 03 2008

austin_powers_in_goldmember_008.jpgSo it must be a slow news day, because this was front page at my local news (some bits taken out so as not to bore you). Having been to this particular McDonald’s several times, I can say that I would not be surprised at this reaction had one of the employees come around a corner and caught their own reflection in the mirror, but a “little people” phobia is a new one on me.

 A little person says he encountered a big problem at a fast-food restaurant.

The McDonald’s customer has filed a complaint and retained a lawyer after he said that a restaurant employee screamed and ran away from him because he is a little person. Ethan Wade had made a purchase at the drive-through window of the McDonald’s, and when there was a problem with the order, he went inside. He said one counter employee made it clear that she didn’t like the way he looked. Wade said, “Young lady had her back turned to the counter and when she turned around and spotted me she threw her hands up in the air, started yelling ‘Oh, my gosh! Oh my gosh!’ and ran to the back of the restaurant, continuing to yell as she was in back of the restaurant.” Wade said that the shift manager and store manager apologized after the incident. He said the employee who screamed told a supervisor that she had a phobia of little people. And employee in the franchise office told Wade about what the woman had said. Wade said, “The employee had stated to her, ‘Imagine if you saw a snake or a spider, how would you respond?’ And that employee said she understood that. And I said, ‘That’s unbelievable. I am a human being.’ ” “How could you compare the fear of a snake and spider to a human being? That makes no sense to me,” Wade said. “I’ve seen kids kind of react like that. Understandable. But grown adults to act like that? That’s just not acceptable.” Wade said he wants to make sure all the employees at the restaurant receive disability awareness training, He said, “Little People of America is going to write a letter on my behalf stating that they do some type of disability awareness training.” According to the franchise owner’s statement, all her employees will receive additional training to ensure they serve all customers with respect. Wade said, “You can’t have a phobia of a person. I’m a human being. You can’t have that type of phobia.” Adding insult to injury, Wade said that the restaurant never corrected his order or gave him anything to compensate for it. “I haven’t even gotten anything from that yet,” he said. “You know, I was thinking a coupon or something.”

Damn! Didn’t even give the man a coupon!! What’s this world coming to?? Wonder what the lawyer he has retained will ask for? “Your honor, we feel that free apple pies for life and no more charging for extra nugget sauce will compensate my client for his pain and suffering.”

So I didn’t know that there was such a thing as a phobia of little people. I also didn’t know that, apparently, there is a whole fetish thing going on with them. Don’t believe me? Well…learn all about it the way I did! Do a google image search for “midget” (yeah, yeah, I know that term is politically incorrect) with your safe search turned off. Ya learn something new everyday.

Actions

Information

3 responses

26 03 2008
trailerparkbarbie

That pic of Mini-Me reminded me of one of the funniest things that I have ever watched on television.
It was when he was in the Surreal Life and was riding around buck-ass nekkid on his Rascal. Then he stopped and peed in the corner.
Now, that’s enough to make anybody skeered of midgets!

26 03 2008
The Vinyl Villager

it sure is!! I saw that on youtube…funny as hell!

26 03 2008
Maxine

As a paralegal, I can say that this tortious offense is worth MILLIONS! No, I am not kidding, Mary. This little man has hit the jackpot. All he needs is the right ambulance chaser.

Leave a Reply

