Blast From the Past–Home Interiors

1 07 2010

It’s been a while since I did a Blast From the Past and you can thank my dear ole stepmama for this one. She and dad are moving to a new house that is quite different from their old one. Their old place was log and wood and very open, with vaulted, beamed ceilings. It’s my completely worthless opinion that houses like that are unique in that you can put almost anything in them and it looks good because the architecture is so strong that everything else is just filler. I have the same opinion on loft style condos, but I digress. Their new house is more traditional, with plaster walls and seperate living and dining rooms.  It will require a different design aesthetic. Stepmom indicated that she and dad hoped to start acquiring some new art–stuff from local artists. She commented that she was “over any kind of Home Interiors look”.

Now, does anyone else remember Home Interiors? Surely a few of you do. They were HUGE in the 1980’s and, I guess, probably into the 1990’s. I don’t think the company is even in business anymore, but near as I can recall they worked on some sort of Tupperware platform in that bored housewives had “Home Interior Parties” and got their friends to buy “art” and “collectibles” in the hopes of earning fabulous “hostess gifts”.

Overall, the stuff is tack-o-rama. It may have been fine in it’s day, but every single piece I could locate on the interwebs is hopelessly dated and works off of some decorative cliche. They sold entire “arrangements”, themed to within an inch of their lives, to add “class” and “panache” to the 1980’s home. Imagine, an entire wall of themed western art, complete with a dreary “picture” of horses galloping and metal western accent pieces. No wall was complete without a shelf containing a theme-appropriate figurine.

Home Interior was a big deal back in 1988 West Virginia. I can just imagine hearing “You should see their new house! They’ve got home interior pictures in every room!” It was a status symbol that ranked right up there with sculptured carpet and a no wax vinyl floor. So, please enjoy the following step into the past:

My crazy mama had this one in our living room. No doubt she was scrimping and saving for the matching figurines at one time.

I likewise imagine that no home of sophistication was complete unless this picture had a nearby set of wolf collectibles, or perhaps a throw for the sofa embroidered with similar creatures.

A matching set! And just imagine  how it would set off your mauve and green floral sofa!

And who wasn’t just waiting to fill that special spot on the wall with a picture of frolicking kittens?

I believe my crazy mama still has this picture of two creepy children hanging somewhere.

Notice the exquisite detail of the matting on this one! Surely such a fine piece was available only as one of the coveted hostess gifts!

Actions

Information

28 responses

1 07 2010
The Incredible Woody

Thankfully, I was always “busy” when friends had their Home Interiors parties!

1 07 2010
The Vinyl Villager

ha ha! when did that era end??

1 07 2010
littlefrugalista

Yes your crazy mama still has the 2 creepy kids hanging on her wall.
No set of Home Interior was complete without sconces: http://shop.ebay.com/?_from=R40&_trksid=p3907.m570.l1311&_nkw=home+interior+sconces&_sacat=See-All-Categories
Which of course were filled with candles that the people never burned and were always dusty.
And you can’t forget the metal butterflies that were nailed to look as if they were flying around the display:

http://cgi.ebay.com/9-HOME-INTERIORS-BRASS-BUTTERFLIES-PICTURE-ACCENTS-/110553278602?cmd=ViewItem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item19bd7d288a

We were blessed to have this one in our stairway:

http://cgi.ebay.com/2-HOME-INTERIORS-METAL-WALL-ART-BUTTERFLY-FLOWERS-SET-/380245907111?cmd=ViewItem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item58886c16a7

I think Trailerpark Barbie bought it at a yard sale.

1 07 2010
The Vinyl Villager

omg, someone had the butterflies in white plastic. I honestly dont remember who.

And the sconces! How could I forget. A “picture” of puppies, flanked by matching sconces with votive candles in mauve or hunter green. With butterflies flying around and a swag of plastic flowers…a hammer and a nail, and bada bing bada boom, you had yourself a conversation piece!

1 07 2010
trailerparkbarbie

TPS…you are in BIG trouble for telling that! hahaha

1 07 2010
noe noe girl

I have fallen vitiam to a few of the parties!

1 07 2010
The Vinyl Villager

do they still have them??

1 07 2010
trailerparkbarbie

To this very day, yard/garage sale ads in the local paper list HOME INTERIOR in all caps! Apparently, it’s still the status symbol back in the hollers. Another theme was “deer”…deer pictures, deer figurines, deer blanket throws, etc. I know a woman who collected the deer crap. Her family income was pretty low and I use to wonder how she afforded anything more than dollar store knick-knacks. One day, she let me in on her secret. Her husband worked street maintenance for the city. When they would have those “clean-up” days and everyone could put their useless junk on the curb, he’d salvage all the Home Interior stuff that he could get his hands on. So, not only was her house done in Home Interior Deer but Home Interior Somebody Else’s Discarded Deer. I think that she still has all of it, too.

1 07 2010
Jeff

This is where you get your design gene isn’t it :) Iol I could add a few items to this page :)

2 07 2010
The Vinyl Villager

I’m not sure where I get it…it certainly wasn’t inherited. Oh no, did you grow up in a Home Interiors house too?

2 07 2010
Jeff

Lol yes!!! I’ll take pics before I leave!

2 07 2010
littlefrugalista

VV the company is still alive and well. They just changed the name. Check out Carlee from High School on FB. She’s a rep.

2 07 2010
The Vinyl Villager

Don’t you mean a “Designer?” Thats apparently the galling name they give the people who hock these wares. On behalf of true designers everywhere, I take great umbrage. LOL

2 07 2010
littlefrugalista

They are Celebrating Home. Just in case you get an urge to purchase some small white plastic shelves: http://www.celebratinghome.com/PWPHome.ashx

2 07 2010
The Vinyl Villager

Gosh. Ya know, I don’t have a single blank wall left in my place. But iffin’ I did, Im thinking this English Garden Bouquet Grouping would be on my must-buy list:

http://www.celebratinghome.com/PWPShowProduct.ashx?ProgramProductId=4674

(It doesnt look like they have changed a bit in 20 years!)

2 07 2010
Jeff

Ooooo this would look great in the foyer!!!!!!!! Lol ;)

5 07 2010
The Vinyl Villager

If that isnt sarcasm, Im revoking your decorating priveleges.

3 07 2010
Jason

OH yeah, this stuff is yucky.

5 07 2010
The Vinyl Villager

big time!

6 07 2010
big hair envy

I was too poor to “invest” in such “luxury” items back in the day. Thank goodness Jim Harrison came along to distract me once I had a little spare change!!! I do, however, have two inherited deer heads on the wall in my family room. I believe the rule is that they are acceptable as long as they have those little gold plaques on them;) GAH!

6 07 2010
The Vinyl Villager

poverty has unexpected benefits! As to dead animals as decor…if someone in the house killed them personally, I guess they are ok.

6 07 2010
crochety crochet lady

Guilty!!!!!!!!!! I still have one picture and it’s actually hanging in the house. So do I have to go to a meeting like AA? Hey wait, I have the perfect doily for those fuguriens, (typo but it stays).

6 07 2010
The Vinyl Villager

so long as its just the ONE…I dont think you need a 12 step program.

29 08 2011
Doreen

I am a child of the 80’s and I remember my mom going to those Home Interior parties where they displayed the groupings on a fake wall ( huge cardboard thing ) the pictures were velcro on to this “wall” ! But anyway, my mom had Home Interior in every room of the house! We had that picture of the boy kissing the girl in our pink bedroom, she had put a sconce on each side with candles that she never burned in them, I hated that picture, it scared me! haha.

12 09 2011
The Vinyl Villager

Oh these were THE status symbols of the 80s! A wall full of home interior was much more impressive than a genuine Renoir. LOL! I remember lighting some of the “decorative” candles once. The popping sound of the dust burning off sounding like popcorn baking.

14 01 2012
DanaT

I just moved to a new house and am getting ready to hang my Home Interiors painting by B. Chipman of a mountainscape that I’ve always loved. There really isn’t a good place in my more modern home so I’m hanging it in a hallway. I went online to see if I could find the artist. Found nothing helpful, just this site. Thanks for the laugh!

16 01 2012
The Vinyl Villager

you’re very welcome! Ya know, they made a few (my parents have one in particular that I recall) pieces that stood the test of time. I think it must have been by accident! LOL. Enjoy your new home!

29 02 2012
liz

I am desperately trying to find an old home interiors pic for my mama. If I post a pic, could you help? Please

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

